2010 was the year that the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology at Michigan State University had the opportunity to host the 37th Annual Pharmacology Research Colloquium.

This event is a collaborative effort between the departments of pharmacology from the Institutions of Michigan State University, University of Toledo, Michigan State University and Wayne State University, that provides a unique opportunity for graduate students and postdoctoral fellows to share their current research findings with other local institutions.

This year was a resounding success, in that there were 68 student participants that presented both oral and poster presentations of their research, as well as over 160 people in attendance.
There were 2 featured speakers:

* Dr. Curt Sigmund, Chair of the Department of Pharmacology from the University of Iowa spoke on “Mechanisms Regulating Vascular Function and Arterial Pressure by a Ligand-activated Nuclear Receptor Transcription Factor”
* Tony Mazzaschi from the AAMC, who spoke on the “The Role of Faculty and Students in Advancing the Nation’s Research Agenda”.

Both key speakers drew a large crowd (standing room only).  The day concluded with the awarding of the “best in show”.  The best speaker award went to Mary Irwin from Wayne State University and the runner-up was Kelly Clap from the University of Michigan.  With regards to the best poster presentation was awarded to Loc Thang from Michigan State University.  The runner up for the poster presentations was Jennifer Thomson from the University of Michigan.

It was a wonderful day that was filled with new research findings. Next year the 38th Annual Pharmacology Colloquium will be held at the University of Toledo.  –Dr. Carrie Northcott